Hilton Community Centre wins top award at WA Architecture Awards

On Friday 6 July, the Hilton Community Centre by Bernard Seeber Architects won the George Temple Poole Award at the Australian Institute of Architects WA Chapter 2012 Architecture Awards, which were held at the Burswood Grand Ballroom.

The annual WA Chapter Architecture Awards celebrate outstanding architecture, honouring excellence in the design of residential, commercial and public buildings in Western Australia.

The highest overall honour – the George Temple Poole Award – is presented each year to the project judged most worthy of all the award winners in each category (excluding the Colorbond® Award and Mondoluce Architectural Lighting Award).

In awarding the George Temple Poole Award, the jury said; ‘The architects have artfully crafted and executed a contemporary layer of organisation and design upon a set of tired facilities, restoring them where appropriate and carefully inserting new elements’.

Hilton Community Centre by Bernard Seeber Architects. Image by Marion Treasure.

‘This is quiet architecture, and an architecture that makes a difference to the Hilton community, making people’s lives better by its accommodation of the diverse needs of a maturing community with clarity and a robust elegance.’

The Hilton Community Centre also won the John Septimus Roe Award for Urban Design.

Other major award winners included (please see attached list for full winners and jury citations):

•Augusta Margaret River Shire Civic and Administration Centre by Bollig Design Group - Jeffrey Howlett Award for Public Architecture
•The House in Cottesloe by Blane Brackenridge - Marshall Clifton Award for Residential Architecture
•Kinder Shophouse by Chindarsi Architects - Peter Overman Award for Residential Architecture – Alterations + Additions
•58 Stevens Street by Officer Woods Architects - Harold Krantz Award for Multiple Residential and the Walter Greenham Sustainable Architecture Award
•The Marsala House, Dianella by Donaldson + Warn Architects - the Margaret Pitt Morison Award for Heritage
•167 Westralia Plaza by JCY Architects and Urban Designers - Ross Chisholm Award for Commercial Architecture
•VENN by Matthews Architecture - Julis Elischer Award for Interior Architecture
•Cultural Centre Amenities by Coniglio Ainsworth Architects - Iwan Iwanoff Award for Small Project Architecture, an Architecture Award in the Interior Architecture category and a dual Mondoluce Lighting Award
•Trades North at Clarkson by JCY Architects and Urban Designers - Colorbond® Award for Steel Architecture and an Architecture Award in the Public Architecture category
•Westbury Residential Additions by David Barr Architect in collaboration with Brett Mitchell – dual Mondoluce Lighting Award and an Architecture Award in the Small Project Architecture category

All Western Australian Named and Architecture Award winners now progress to the Australian Institute of Architects National Architecture Awards to be held in Perth on 1 November.

Click here for full list of winners and jury citations.


Note to Editors:
* Awards in each category are based on a three-tier system in decreasing order of merit.

Named Award: The first and highest award in each category, given to the work judged to be the most significant for the advancement of architecture in each category.

Architecture Award: This is the second tier - recognising work of excellence demonstrating consummate architectural skill that contributes to the advancement of architecture.

Commendation: This is the third tier - for projects of special merit, demonstrating significant architectural skill.

All projects recognised with a Named Award and an Architecture Award in their State are eligible for national awards.

For media enquiries and high resolution images contact:

Sarah Langley
Detail Marketing Communications WA
M: 0426 243 738

Alexandra Cato
National Media and Communications Officer
Australian Institute of Architects
P: 03 8620 3813 M: 0416 022 818

The Australian Institute of Architects is the peak body for the architectural profession, representing more than 11,000 members across Australia and overseas. The Institute actively works to improve the quality of our built environment by promoting quality, responsible and sustainable design.

Learn more about the Institute, log on to www.architecture.com.au